“It’s a beautiful thing when a passion and a career come together.”

Hello!  It’s been quite a while since I’ve done this.  Quite a lot has happened in the past few weeks.  I finished all three of my graded observations with my supervisor, and they all went really well.  As excited as I am to start something new at the next placement, I am so sad about leaving this school behind.  I’ve gotten to know and love these kids and I wish I could stick around longer!  Before I switch, I’ve still got quite a bit to do in the next five days.  I have an article review to do, as well as decorate a bulletin board in the band room, and do a mock interview with the superindendent.  (Eek!  Guess it’s better to do it now than wait until a real one.)  I also get to teach everything this coming Thursday when my co-operating teacher is at Region band with our bass clarinet player.  Keeping our fingers crossed she makes it to states!  

 This past week was really, really long.  I just felt so tired and beat up.  It’s one thing to be tired as a college student.  You can just sit in the back of most of your classes and wear sweatpants.  But with teaching, I have to be as energetic and happy and talkative as I always am, when all I’d really like to do is stay home and watch Grey’s Anatomy wrapped up in a blanket.  Teaching really is exhausting sometimes.  Despite the tired part, it keeps getting easier and easier though which I know sounds weird.  I just have to think less about what I’m doing now.    But, in addition to the full school day, I’m playing piano for 2+ hours every evening for their musical rehearsal and every Saturday until the show, and let me tell you, that is tough work.  The kids are working really hard though and the show is starting to pull together.  On top of that, almost every night this past week I had rehearsals for my friend Savvas’s recital, which was on Saturday.  

Enough of me complaining!  I love what I’m doing and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  Well, except maybe the occasional hour of down time to watch said Grey’s Anatomy episode.  The recital on Saturday was awesome.  I had so much fun and Savvas sounded great.  I miss playing my flute, so it’s even better when I get to play with a wonderful musician and friend!  

Image

 

But, like with every recital, I’m relived when it’s over!  Caitlyn and I had a little celebration at our apartment with marching band sax section afterwards.  For weeks, we worked on making shirts for the people who have marched for two or more years.  

Image

 

I love these guys.  It was a great way to end a long week.  I’m not very social these days, but when I do spend time with friends I always get lots of hugs and great conversations with them!  I think our letters turned out great.  

Here’s a project I worked on a while ago for my co-op.  We made a makeshift timpani for the elementary band since he doesn’t have two sets of timpani but he wanted to get them used to what a high and low-pitched drum would sound like.  We got these two old bass drums that had been in storage for over a decade, if not more, and it was my job to clean them up.  Let me tell you, I was quite dusty by the time I was finished!  But now they look brand new, and we have a nice little stand to put them on.  My co-op know that I sew, and he asked me to sew a cover!  I didn’t have any pattern or anything, I just measured the drums and guessed as well as I could.  I’m very happy with the way the whole thing turned out!

Image

 

This past week, I made an announcement in high school band about how I was playing in a recital, just in case anyone would be interested in attending.  I wasn’t expecting really anyone to show up, but five of my students came!  I was completely overjoyed and so happy they were there.  Not only because it means a lot to me, but because it gave them a chance to hear really good live music.  I introduced myself to the mom of two of my students, brother and sister, and she said, “Oh, I know, I’ve heard a lot about you!”  I couldn’t stop grinning when she told me that.  I love that I’m having a positive impact on these kids!  I think about teaching all the time, about how I can better teach a concept or conduct something better, or demonstrate something on a horn, but I lately have lost sight of the fact that these kids are unique and wonderful individuals.  Her comment reminded me of how special they are!  And how much I need to realize that I can influence these kids in a big way, for better or for worse.  

Image

Left to right: Pauline, Parker, Isabelle, me, Hayley, and Rachel.  I’m going to miss them all.  I know, without a doubt, that teaching is the right profession for me.

So I’ve only got one more week at this school district left!  I can’t believe how fast it’s flown by.  Then I have drill coming up again soon, and will be reunited once more with my lovely friend Ali.  I think we have the coolest friendship ever.  We basically live parallel lives and we have so much in common, and yet we’re quite different in some ways!  And it sucks we only get to see each other once a month, but when the time comes, we don’t stop talking from the time I pick her up at school Friday, to the time I drop her back off Sunday evening!  Despite the fact that we text constantly, there’s still so much to say!  She is like a sister to me.  Here’s a picture of us from last drill when there was real sunshine outside and we went for a glorious 4 mile run!  She’s training for a half marathon in May, so this weekend she’ll probably outrun me since I don’t do it much these days!  Even when I’m not excited to go to drill, I’m always excited to see her!

Image

 

Have a wonderful week my fellow humans!  I think you should go listen to Yo-Yo Ma playing his Appalachian Waltz album right now because it’s pretty darn awesome.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

