I Hate Running at the Gym

Now that I’m home for four weeks, and it’s cold outside (well, except for this recent heat wave), I’ve decided to start going to a gym.  When it gets below 40 it’s reallllly difficult to motivate myself to get out in the cold!  I got a free month’s membership to the gym my dad belongs to, so I figured, “Why not?” I’ve gone twice and I already hate it. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love to exercise.  It’s a great stress reliever for me and it just plain feels good to work hard.  I’m not a fitness addict by any means, nor am I particularly good at any sport or type of exercise, but I do like it and I do it often.  Living a healthy life has always been a big part of my family’s lifestyle, which I’m really grateful for.  Our idea of a family vacation is going white water tubing at Harper’s Ferry, WV or biking 25 miles by waterfalls in Jim Thorpe, PA – no laying on the beach for us!  My favorite types of exercise are biking and swimming, which I do in abundance during the summer months.  I also enjoy running and other random things like tennis and hiking and Zumba when the opportunity allows it.  I absolutely love to be outside, so it feels very confining at the gym.  It’s a very nice gym, with lots of great equipment and a friendly atmosphere but it’s such a bore.  I’m going to have to start making my workouts really elaborate and varied so that I don’t lose my motivation to go! 

Okay, I just really had to get that off my chest.  I’ll keep you updated on how my 30 days goes…I can’t wait for that early spring day where I can just put on my sneakers and walk out the door!

This past week has been a bit crazy.  I spent three days doing some pre-student teaching at a high school, which was awesome in every possible way.  It makes me so ridiculously excited to be a teacher soon! 

Image

One day at the school someone asked if I was a substitute!  Which of course gave me all kinds of warm fuzzies.  Like I said before, I’m going to be the best-dressed teacher I can be!  I think this was Tuesday’s outfit.

I observed a lot, but I also got to conduct for about 10 minutes of a concert band rehearsal.  I get along really well with the director, and we share many of the same philosophies and ideas on teaching and life in general.  I actually wish I was student teaching at this school!  I’ve learned so much in my 3 short days.  I have to return to do 2 more days in January, and also help the students at their concert in mid-January! 

I remember one of my professors saying once, “You didn’t choose just to be a music teacher, you chose a lifestyle,” and those words have stuck with me like glue ever since because it’s absolutely true.  I can see how this director’s life revolves around his students and his work.  Especially in the first few years, I’m told, you live and breath lesson plans. So there’s that to look forward to!  But seriously, I can’t wait. 

The last couple of years I thought that I wanted to teach elementary school, but after observing this week I’m thinking I might want to do high school instead.  We’ll see!  I’m leaving it up to God to let me know what He wants.

Saturday afternoon, my family went to a Christmas party at my grandparent’s house.  Because of my summer activities and being at college, I got to see some of my relatives for the first time since last Christmas!  It was great catching up with them and eating lots of good food.  I also really enjoyed seeing how our family dynamic on my Dad’s side is slowly changing.  For the past, say, 5 or 6 years, it was all adults at our gatherings because my cousins, my brothers, and I were all at least teenagers.  But now, 3 of my cousins are married (including Mike out in Montana!!  Miss you cuz.) and there are several little kids at our get-togethers!  They are so much fun and so full of life.  I just marvel at our quickly they soak up information and how they just love everything and how they make me laugh.  My grandparent’s cozy house was quite lively last night! 

Image

Brett and I at the end of the evening!  I love this kid so much.

Now it is time to begin a new week!  Here’s a couple things that are on my to-do list…

1. Work: It’s time to return to good ol’ Baker’s Diner!  In addition to two summers, this’ll be my third winter working there, and also my last!  Being a food server is a lot of work, so be sure to tip your waitress well my friends.  🙂

2. Clean my room hardcore: Seriously, it’s like a tornado went through that thing.  I’m so good about keeping my room neat at school, but when I come home it just explodes.  I’m just lazy when I’m here.  Not only do I need to pick up all my clothes that are strewn everywhere, I need to clean out my closet and my drawers and shelves.  It’s time I donate some of my old clothes and also get rid of any stuff I don’t need anymore, since I’ll be moving out in a few short months!  What a crazy thought.

3. Christmas: self-explanatory.

4. Go to the Frosty Llama:  It’s a frozen yogurt place that’s been open in Dillsburg for quite a while, apparently, but I haven’t been home to enjoy it yet!  And I love frozen yogurt, so I’m planning on calling up a friend and getting some delicious froyo. 

5. Work on my t-shirt quilt: I started it this past week, and it’s going great so far. It’s kind of scary cutting up my old shirts because I don’t want to ruin them but I haven’t screwed anything up too badly!  I can only do so much right now, though, because our sewing machine is getting repaired and won’t be done for a couple weeks.  So I’m busy cutting out squares, measuring, and pinning until then!  I can’t wait until it’s finished. 

Image

Here’s the layout of what my quilt will look like.  It took forever figuring out which shirts to put in what row – they had to be just right!

I’m wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!  May God bless you and your families this lovely holiday season.

Leave a Reply

